Check icon


Your request has been successfully submitted.

Honeywell's Jeff Bricker Honored with Prestigious North American Catalysis Society Award

The North American Catalysis Society has awarded its 2017 Eugene J. Houdry Award in applied catalysis to Dr. Jeffery Bricker, Sr. Director of Research at Honeywell UOP.

Honeywell Scientist Receives North American Catalysis Society's 2017 Eugene J. Houdry AwardModern catalytic processes are responsible for the development of cleaner fuels, and the production of advanced plastics, petrochemical compounds, and more effective detergents. The Houdry award recognizes individual contributions in the field of catalysis with an emphasis on the development of new and improved catalysts and processes.

“Jeff's contributions to applied catalysis research over several years have advanced UOP's leadership in a wide variety of process solutions in the oil and gas industry,” said Jim Rekoske, Chief Technology Officer at Honeywell UOP. “Under Jeff's leadership, our entire research and development organization has accomplished very high levels of innovation and commercialization of hundreds of new inventions.”

Jeff's many achievements include the discovery of key reaction mechanisms in refinery fuels, which led to the commercialization of a new catalyst that functions in the absence of caustic, a highly corrosive substance.

He also invented catalysts that have been commercialized in Honeywell UOP technologies that today account for more than 60 percent of the world's production of paraxylene, the primary ingredient in many plastics.

Finally, Jeff led a team that improved the dehydrogenation technology for the production of linear alkylbenzenes (LAB), which are the precursors for biodegradable detergents. This new catalyst technology, developed in conjunction with UOP's Japanese affiliate Nikki-Universal, reduces by-product heavy alkylate by 20 percent, improving the profitability of the product.

Honeywell UOP earned a record 671 patents for new inventions globally during 2015, bolstering its position as the leading developer and licensor of technologies for the petroleum refining, petrochemicals and gas processing industries.

The North American Catalysis Society created the biennial award in 1967, naming it for Eugène Jules Houdry (1892-1962), a pioneer in the catalytic cracking of petroleum.

John Simley
Honeywell UOP
+1 (847) 612-1484  - Mobile