https://www.honeywell.com/us/en/search.html
    title
    description
    subtitle

    Product Security

    Policies

    We take security concerns seriously and work to quickly evaluate and address them. Once reported, we commit the appropriate resources to analyze, validate and provide corrective actions to address the issue.

    The goal of our Product Security Incident Response Team (PSIRT) is to minimize customers’ risk associated with security vulnerabilities by providing timely information, guidance and remediation of vulnerabilities in our products, including software and applications, hardware and devices, services and solutions. This team manages the receipt, investigation, internal coordination, remediation and disclosure of security vulnerability information related to Honeywell products.

    PSIRT coordinates the response and disclosure of all externally identified product vulnerabilities.

    Reporting a Potential Security Vulnerability

    We welcome reports from independent researchers, industry organizations, vendors and customers concerned with product security. To find out more information on how to report a potential vulnerability, please visit the Vulnerability Reporting web page.

    Coordinated Vulnerability Disclosure

    We strive to follow Coordinated Vulnerability Disclosure (CVD). This process allows independent reporters who discover a vulnerability contact Honeywell directly and allow us the opportunity to investigate and remediate the vulnerability before the reporter discloses the information to the public.

    The PSIRT will coordinate with the reporter throughout the vulnerability investigation and will provide them with updates on progress as appropriate. With their agreement, the PSIRT may recognize the reporter on our acknowledgments for finding a valid product vulnerability and privately reporting the issue. After an update or mitigation information is publicly released by Honeywell, the reporter is welcome to discuss the vulnerability publicly.

    Following the CVD allows us to protect our customers and at the same time, coordinate public disclosures and appropriately acknowledge the reporter for their finding. If a reported vulnerability involves a vendor product, the PSIRT will notify the vendor directly, coordinate with the reporter, or engage a third-party coordination center.

    Vulnerability Management Process

    Assessing Security Risk Using Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS)

    We use the Common Vulnerability Scoring System version 3.0 (CVSS v3.0) to evaluate the severity level of identified vulnerabilities. This enables a common scoring method and a common language to communicate the characteristics and impacts of vulnerabilities and attempts to establish a measurement of how much concern a vulnerability warrants. The model uses three distinct measurements or scores that include base, temporal and environmental calculations, each consisting of a set of metrics. The full standard, which is maintained by the Forum of Incident Response and Security Teams (FIRST).

    We follow CVSS v3.0 Specification Document Qualitative Severity Rating Scale to define Severity Ratings as shown in the table below:

    Security Impact Rating CVSS Score
    Critical 9.0 – 10.0
    High 7.0 – 8.9
    Medium 4.0 – 6.9
    Low
    1.0 – 3.9

    We reserve the right to deviate from these guidelines in specific cases if additional factors are not properly captured in the CVSS score.

    When and where applicable, Honeywell Security Bulletins will provide the CVSS v3.0 Base Score. We focus on the base metric group only because it brings the most value to our customers and represents the intrinsic characteristics of a vulnerability. Risk assessment is based on an average of risk across a diverse set of installed systems and may not represent the true risk of your local installation.

    We recommend consulting a security or IT professional to evaluate the risk of your specific configuration and encourages you to compute the environmental score based on your network parameters and that all customers take into account the base score and any temporal and environmental scores that may be relevant to their environment to assess their overall risk. This overall score represents a moment in time and is tailored to your specific environment. You should use a security or IT professional’s assessment of the issue and this final score to prioritize responses in your own environment.

    Vulnerability Communication Policy

    Honeywell uses the following guidelines for non-third-party software vulnerabilities to determine the appropriate communication plan:

    Security Impact Rating CVSS Score Communication Plan
    Critical 9.0–10.0 Security Bulletin
    High 7.0–8.9
    Medium 4.0–6.9 Product Release Note
    Low 3.9 or below

    If there is a security issue with a third-party software component that is used in a Honeywell product, we may publish a Security Bulletin. If a Security Bulletin is published for a third-party software component vulnerability, then we typically use the CVSS score provided by the component creator. In some cases, the CVSS score may be adjusted to reflect the impact to the product.

    We reserve the right to deviate from these guidelines in specific cases if additional factors are not properly captured in the CVSS score.

    Notifying Customers of Vulnerability

    In most cases, we intend to notify customers when there is an identified practical workaround or fix for a security vulnerability. The notification is through either targeted communications or by posting a security bulletin on the specific product web page. This will be posted after the PSIRT has completed the vulnerability response process and determined that sufficient software patches or workarounds exist to address the vulnerability or subsequent public disclosure of code fixes is planned to address the vulnerabilities.

    Security bulletins attempt to balance the right amount of information by providing sufficient details to enable customers to make informed decisions to protect themselves, but not verbose details that would allow malicious users to take advantage of the information. They will typically include the following information:

    1. Products and versions affected.
    2. Common Vulnerability Enumeration (CVE) identifier for the vulnerability.
    3. Brief description of the vulnerability and potential impact if exploited.
    4. The Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS) severity rating for the vulnerability.
    5. Mitigation details such as an upgrade, fix, mitigation or other customer action.
    6. Credit to the reporter of the identified vulnerability and acknowledgment for coordinating with Honeywell.

    We will not provide additional information about the specifics of vulnerabilities beyond what is provided in the security bulletin or other documentation such as release notes, knowledge base articles, FAQs, etc. We do not distribute exploit or proof of concept code for identified vulnerabilities.

    In accordance with industry practices, we do not share the findings from internal security testing or other types of security activities with external entities. It is important to note that any scan of our services and production systems will be considered an attack. If you are an OEM partner, please coordinate your needs with your Honeywell program manager.

    Security Notice

    We may release a special communication to respond quickly and appropriately to public disclosures where the vulnerability may have received significant public attention, or is expected to be actively exploited. In such an event, we may expedite the communication and may or may not include a complete set of patches or workarounds.

    Vulnerability Remediation

    We take security concerns seriously and works to evaluate and address them in a timely manner. Response timelines will depend on many factors, including: the severity, the product affected, the current development cycle, QA cycles, and whether the issue can only be updated in a major release.

    Remediation may take one or more of the following forms:

    1. A new release
    2. A Honeywell-provided patch
    3. Instructions to download and install an update or patch from a third-party
    4. A workaround to mitigate the vulnerability

    Notwithstanding the foregoing, we do not guarantee a specific resolution for issues and not all issues identified may be fixed.

    Report a Vulnerability Issue

    We encourage coordinated disclosure of security vulnerabilities. Security researchers, industry groups, government organizations and vendors can report potential security vulnerabilities to Honeywell by choosing one of the two vulnerability types in the form below or by emailing us with below details mentioned.

    If the vulnerability affects a product, service or solution, email us at PSIRT@Honeywell.com, with the following instructions/details:

    • Please encrypt using Honeywell’s public PGP key (see PGP Key page) and include the following:
      • Product and version
      • Description of the potential vulnerability
      • Any special configuration required to reproduce the issue
      • Step by step instructions to reproduce the issue
      • Proof of concept or exploit code, if available
      • Potential Impact

    For all other security issues, email us at Security@honeywell.com with the following instructions. 

    • Please encrypt using Honeywell’s public PGP key (see PGP Key page) and include the following:
      • Website URL or location
      • Type of vulnerability (XSS, Injection, etc.)
      • Instructions to reproduce the vulnerability
      • Proof of concept or exploit code, including how an attacker could exploit the vulnerability
      • Potential impact

    Download PGP Key here

    PGP Key

    -----BEGIN PGP PUBLIC KEY BLOCK-----
    Version: GnuPG/MacGPG2 v2.0.22 (Darwin)
    Comment: GPGTools - https://gpgtools.org

    mQENBE/Z+NYBCAC/++sRC1JFlk1oMMDgl5jxhhh3U+MzTDLiBjHcCeJ4OmBiGRck
    LljhZc0oW8SMd2JW0KjtEa0lKW8JIQHWBRjnGPudT8A/Y/3RW/Rx60dTvvUvt6ux
    IqWmYDoe3B2aTNJmiQZobKwG5uxq0hKhQmTGsmqBWd9jWJT3lopjR7YPzuI3rWjq
    m8DKaz+0JEs0hbPiO5mnID48NaTQvFb5tCySrnOaJIPHAwPtcfz8WWR3wDh3HX6N
    sQOohiYs0lcxxF/klycMfgSaOd4KCvMuvvyYzsAgqAc2cyI41SAWhM0t4/7sGVsM
    6QkOEQL7oM37fKpynKZoNqVQS43i5vEQXKhTABEBAAG0I0hvbmV5d2VsbCBDSVJU
    IDxjaXJ0QGhvbmV5d2VsbC5jb20+iQFyBBABAgBcBQJP2fjWMBSAAAAAACAAB3By
    ZWZlcnJlZC1lbWFpbC1lbmNvZGluZ0BwZ3AuY29tcGdwbWltZQgLCQgHAwIKAQIZ
    AQUbAwAAAAUWAAMCAQUeAQAAAAYVCAkKAgMACgkQNyARPx/t4AdyoQf+LlUiTv20
    VT5Hwbwm4CYxELzjlDaIsDS5DBFAY//gVcaC3J2CW/JeDSvDcBahePADVYI8N3Mk
    fo2IPW4G7riB1OvBm8INELEVnDpFgTMffcLtHyyJHdolO7MKNGp/1zZxHriEci6K
    22v6GT8TluEA9R6pKA7SI/lbVCxDe53CPzm7rQhxLFr2GJ3YKqvJ8C1OW06+fPDZ
    U+nx80X+MIXMJ0+i+i1RS4TVK1chx6MWtkWRPBh022a7q5Ub19ox2osNavwE/gIs
    sMcK2UCZKrphavAbh2YGvPl6UA16lIDwSwMZZ32Di/QcXPfZmBqmJxSs88lQmk5X
    4AKpkknAGb7IY7kBDQRP2fjWAQgA2t9nKv8aoyHQFdu2mFDzxCaBNNgZggoUJjkr
    80ahYphP4gMO/R1N6rUEDoRefzGKwG6l8Vn4yQs3wWl3VWLSBRswmUFa9GITiJnq
    rfJOmw/JZlvqCbh5otGS2/irRb0IOYDn8/OPtN6H47pIfhCuMUEYNoYZ4Y1Vo4oA
    JIbk7/R1IWnlUTGACvgIITDna0Xx2UF9Tlen7AQvMXilonaZhzFaou2abYYGbNWg
    IH8F2m6bd43CK6lM1Bda0wPZFyOmAlbpkDg3xcTJj/ikqC4w3QrLV1RzIL+wQJQ3
    QsJIrMMFRLVxSWjVR84OfXplCFNFG5zneNuyWBVH4+yo87ZrAwARAQABiQJBBBgB
    AgErBQJP2fjXBRsMAAAAwF0gBBkBCAAGBQJP2fjWAAoJEO+/PWqvM/9ITYEH/3rC
    m8tVUcM5rwKluGGRKm2OFlpL5UAN9GDB0yAYbgCPYX4HZPJFDb5eErOrPAsAX3JF
    gfYRP1c0C+wkH6FRnINRRl5GTA3rlaoupPb6fVplgNOSPoRYoP76LaCE0RABrs0X
    4j1r8cfCnWF50xS1sLIY2S8NCrXZKDnPGIpAAMvnO7FZY7DDzFHltSp+cM5EfheL
    wz6dACrbZmo3V6MWaFHxEJaMwzry/IHx8Y0adQ0IuPzESJhOb2KA42oxEekYgNcT
    jZaXVOg592rFmeVMiH+kZ6AqpOWPbSgLY9SA4UZ7wS3uzObk2WWHtE2tXodBKnV8
    x+XfhPwIPL/clezxl6QACgkQNyARPx/t4AfiHgf/cahQSIQ3Z8vV4oGPdgQZT7zH
    h1nQr5mP/9dMkeGYqUwzkRfKLtfSrNIIyq3sOX0TI0b13sHJ/bsys1bPurRMo9QZ
    E/XBRunn0kikKlqIwGroufJooV7rWTQs01npsgjEtBVsLs/xrGZ6OIB5UZDVG650
    aeLBIivRYBy9buIP/ouxKk5C5zTBIQ00Rk7eN/guoxanlrD4wNhzsw/U9SDI8gIH
    ghiIG8KhyeSefQVoT7+d1NF5qEcghHIutzpSv33GaPuegvOkqXrsPC2q1w949+Im
    jcqS6tU4SKYsAeZUro95QhATQGVuANyit9REk68syv8Ke0JcrvrhIj5Qu93LnQ==
    =dpgO
    -----END PGP PUBLIC KEY BLOCK-----

    Acknowledgments

    We would like to acknowledge all individuals who have reported a vulnerability in our environment. We are grateful for these security researchers who help keep us secure.

    REPORTERS NAME ASSOCIATION LINK
    Aagam Shah https://twitter.com/neutrinoguy
    Abdul Haq Khokhar @abdulhaqkhokhar
    Abdul Rehman Qureshi  
    Abhineeti Singh https://my.linkedin.com/in/abhineeti-singh-739628a4
    Abhishek Misal http://www.linkedin.com/in/abhishek-misal
    Abhishek Tiwari https://www.linkedin.com/in/rootabhi
    Ahmed Salah Abdalhfaz https://twitter.com/elsfa7110
    Alexander Sidukov (Positive Technologies) @cyberopus
    Alisha Sheikh https://in.linkedin.com/in/alisha-sheikh-96059615a
    Amit Kumar https://www.linkedin.com/in/amit-kumar-9853731a4
    Angkan Chanda  
    Ari Apridana https://www.linkedin.com/in/ariapridana/
    Ashish Kunwar @D0rkerDevil
    Athul Jayaram https://www.linkedin.com/in/athuljayaram
    Ayush Pandey https://www.linkedin.com/in/ayush-pandey-148797175
    B Dhiyaneshwaran https://www.linkedin.com/in/dhiyaneshwaran-b-27947a131/
    Badal Sardhara https://www.linkedin.com/in/badal-sardhara-9b43a41a5
    Bill Ben Haim
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/bill-ben-haim-b6775a48/
    Boik Su https://twitter.com/boik_su
    Chandana S Kallesh https://www.linkedin.com/in/chandana-kallesh-a14b2a184/
    Danish Tariq https://www.linkedin.com/in/danishtariqq/
    Dominique van https://bureauvandorsselaer.nl
    Elias Mourany https://www.linkedin.com/in/eliasmourany/
    Gayatri Rachakonda https://www.linkedin.com/in/gayatri-r-8368a3110
    Gjoko Krstic https://www.linkedin.com/in/gjokokrstic
    GwanYeong Kim @sec_karas
    Harish P https://www.linkedin.com/in/harish-p-62b38a158
    Harshal S. Sharma https://www.linkedin.com/in/harshalss-war10ck/
    Husain Murabbi (cyber_humans) https://www.linkedin.com/in/husain-murabbi-cyberhumans/
    Jan Kopriva https://www.linkedin.com/in/jan-kopriva/
    Javad Dadgar https://twitter.com/javadmacros
    Jayesh Patel https://www.breachlock.com
    Joachim Kerschbaumer  https://twitter.com/joachimk
    Jorian Van Den Hout  
    Jose Carlos Exposito Bueno  
    Kapil Kulkarni*
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/kapil-kulkarni-oscp-ceh-chfi-5a333763/
    Khaled Sakr https://www.linkedin.com/in/khaled-sakr-61821698
    Lutfu Mert Ceylan https://linkedin.com/in/lutfumertceylan/
    Mahad Ahmed https://octadev.com.pk
    Mansoor Rangwala (cyber_humans) https://www.linkedin.com/in/mansoor-rangwala-cyberhumans/
    Maxim Rupp http://rupp.it/
    Mikael Vingaard Vingaard.dk
    Mindset Technologies https://mindsetechnologies.com/certificates
    Mohammad Reza Zamiri https://twitter.com/d3c0der
    Mohammed Adam https://www.linkedin.com/in/mohammedadam24/
    Mohammed Faiz Quadri https://my.linkedin.com/in/mfaquadri
    Mohamed Hamed https://www.linkedin.com/in/mohamed-hamed-239378163/
    Mostafa Anas https://www.linkedin.com/in/mostafaanashelal
    MrMustacheMan  
    Nadav Erez (Claroty) https://www.linkedin.com/in/nadav-erez/
    Naveen Kumawat https://twitter.com/nvk0x
    Netan Mangal* https://www.linkedin.com/in/netanmangal
    Nick Jensen https://www.linkedin.com/in/nickmarcjensen/
    Niraj Mahajan https://www.linkedin.com/in/niraj1mahajan/
    Nitish Shah https://twitter.com/iamNitishShah
    Omur UGUR https://www.linkedin.com/in/omurugur-siberg%C3%BCvenlik/
    Paul Seekamp https://www.linkedin.com/in/paulseekamp/
    Pethuraj M https://www.pethuraj.in/
    Pramod Sargar https://linkedin.com/in/impramodsargar
    Pranav Bhandari https://www.linkedin.com/in/pranav-bhandari-8bb644158/
    Pratik Khalane https://www.linkedin.com/in/pratik-khalane/
    Rahul Gamit https://www.linkedin.com/in/rahul-gamit-54a93a188/
    Rajnish Kumar Gupta https://www.linkedin.com/in/geekyrajnish
    Ramkumar Ganesan https://www.linkedin.com/in/ram-kumar94
    Rei Henigman (Claroty)  
    Reza Dorosti https://twitter.com/DorostiRe
    Ronak Nahar https://www.linkedin.com/in/naharronak/
    Satyendra Shrivastava https://www.linkedin.com/in/satyendra-shrivastava/
    Saurabh Shinde https://www.linkedin.com/in/saurabhshinde96/
    Serge Lacroute https://www.linkedin.com/in/serge-lacroute-677a3b134/
    Srikar V https://linkedin.com/in/exp1o1t9r
    Steven Hampton @keritzy
    Sumit Grover @sumgr0 
    Swapnil Maurya @swapmaurya20
    Tansel ÇETİN @tansbey
    Thilo Mohri https://www.linkedin.com/in/tmohri/
    Udhaya Prakash C*  @Udhaya_ISRO
    Umesh Jore* https://www.linkedin.com/in/umesh-jore-55015194
    Uri Katz of Claroty   
    Utkarsh Agrawal  https://twitter.com/agrawalsmart7 
    Varun Thorat https://www.linkedin.com/in/3xtrinsic/
    Vasim Shaikh https://www.linkedin.com/in/vasim-shaikh-094507110
    Venkatesh Sivakumar @PranavVenkats 
    Victor Curalea https://twitter.com/VictorCuralea
    Victor Hylejam https://twitter.com/ov3rflow1
    Vijiln @vijiln
    Vikas Srivastava, India https://www.linkedin.com/in/007vikaxh
    Vinayak Chaturvedi https://www.linkedin.com/in/vinayak-chaturvedi-348b071a1
    Vishwa Ratna https://stackoverflow.com/users/4964136/vishwa-ratna?tab=profile
    Wai Yan Aung @waiyanaun9 
    Yash Agarwal  https://www.linkedin.com/in/yashagarwal2605/
    Yunus Aydin https://www.linkedin.com/in/aydinnyunus/
    Zach Edwards https://twitter.com/thezedwards
    12103-Psychonaut  

    * Indicates multiple submissions