Check icon


Your request has been successfully submitted.

Turbo Tech Earns Second Consecutive Dakar Rally Victory

Boosted by Honeywell turbochargers, French automaker Peugeot came away victorious at the 2017 Dakar Rally last week not only winning the race but also capturing this first three positions.

The trio of Peugeot 3008 DKRs race cars swept the podium as each was powered by engine fitted with two Honeywell turbochargers which were engineered specifically for the race. Peugeot and Honeywell won the race for the second consecutive year.

Turbo Technology Helps Peugeot to 2nd Consecutive Dakar Rally Win
First Place: Stéphane Peterhansel and co-driver Jean Paul Cottret

Coming in first was Stéphane Peterhansel and co-driver Jean Paul Cottret also for the second consecutive year. This win makes Peterhansel the most successful driver in the Dakar rally's history with 13 wins. In second place was Sébastien Loeb with co-driver Daniel Elena. The third place slot was secured by Cyril Despres with co-driver David Castera.

The Dakar is a long distance rally that ranks as one of the greatest challenges of all extreme competitions, spanning more than 5,400 miles through Paraguay, Bolivia and Argentina in South America. For many people, it is the pinnacle of motor sports, combining racing and speed, off-road navigational skills and consistency.

During the past 40 years, this combination of physical rigor and technical performance has appealed to champions and little known competitors from a wide variety of backgrounds.